Daily Bible Inspirations

Four Phases of Spiritual Growth and Maturity

by Darla Noble

But the path of the righteous is like the dawning light that shines more and more until the perfect day.

Proverbs 4:18

Jesus took His 12 disciples through four different phases of spiritual growth. He taught them to do the same with those they brought to Christ. These phases of growth still apply today and will continue until Jesus comes.

1. Come and See
Come and see who Jesus is. Discover what the Bible says about who God is, who Jesus is, what they have to offer, and why it should matter to you.

2. Believe in Me
Once you see who Jesus is, you believe the words of the Bible. You believe in God and Jesus. You find God’s promises. The purpose of existence is to honor God and obey Him fully (Ecclesiastes 12:13-14).

3. Be with Me
To be with Jesus you repent (turn away from deliberate sin) and confess your sins. You know you need a Savior. You are buried in baptism to receive forgiveness and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit (Acts 2:38). You develop an intimate fellowship with Jesus by deliberately striving to live faithfully, obeying all of God’s commands.

4. Remain in Me
This phase is the level of spiritual maturity that is faithful, that is obedient, that knows and relies on God’s constant presence. The Remain in Me phase doesn’t guarantee an absence of grief, pain, turmoil, fear, or even a few doubts now and then. But in those times, the spiritually mature who are Remaining in Jesus know that because He lives, they can face today and tomorrow confident that they aren’t alone and that God will take care of them.


Help me grow and mature to be the person who remains in You always and forever.
In Jesus’ Name, I pray, Amen.